How CAF works

CAF is currently in a pilot phase. Over the next 12 months, CAF will continue to refine its key elements. The following components of the framework have been development for inclusion in the pilot.


Code of Conduct

The Code of Conduct sets out CAF’s core principles, including

  • respect and dignity for cleaners
  • freedom of association
  • workplace safety
  • reasonable workloads
  • recognition of stakeholder who adopt wages and conditions that are above minimum standards,
  • reasonable contract prices.


All industry stakeholders are expected to commit to these principles, which are linked to the star rating system.


Procurement toolkit

CAF has developed (and continues to add to) a suite of best practice procurement tools and guidance notes for cleaning companies, facilities managers and property owners to use when tendering cleaning contracts. The key procurement tool that has been developed to date is the pricing schedule, which provides transparency of wages and overheads, hours worked and productivity rates and enables a fair and consistent assessment of tenders. Separate pricing schedules have been developed for commercial and retail cleaning and are currently being tested in the market.


Compliance and auditing tools

CAF continues to develop compliance and auditing tools that ensure compliance with minimum standards and, where identified, achieve better practice four star and best practice five star CAF standards.


Certification scheme

CAF will certify and award star ratings to sites.  The certification scheme will consist of two elements:

  • membership – all participants across the cleaning services supply chain can become members. Membership will signal a public commitment by an entity to CAF principles. It will also entitle members to access a range of CAF resources
  • site certification – property owners are able to seek certification of specific property sites within their portfolio. 

The certification scheme targets compliance in key areas, including

> labour standards
> taxation and superannuation
> record keeping
> workplace health and safety.


Three, Four and Five Star Standards

The CAF certification scheme provides a star rating model. Different standards will apply for three, four, or five star ratings, with the requirements to be met increasing with the ratings. The five star standard, for example, will include a range of requirements that demonstrate best practice.

CAF has developed and will be piloting the three star standard. The requirements of this standard are supplied to participants in the pilot and will be available online shortly. The three star standard sets out requirements for contract cleaners, facilities managers, property owners and tenants in key areas including

  • pricing (use of a CAF pricing schedule)
  • compliance with Fair Work Act and relevant award/enterprise agreement
  • worker involvement in CAF implementation
  • compliance with taxation and superannuation obligations
  • compliance with WH&S obligations
  • monitoring of sub-contracting.


The Fair Work Ombudsman is currently facilitating pre-pilot testing of the certification scheme at four sites in Sydney and Melbourne (including both retail and commercial sites). At these properties, the certification scheme is being ‘reality tested’ with large cleaning services supply chains against the three star standard.

CAF will pilot the certification scheme from 2016 through 2018. During this time, CAF intends to work with industry stakeholders to refine the scheme, develop requirements for the four and five star standards, and consider expansion opportunities.

All standards require owners (and those in the cleaning supply chain for a particular site) to agree to the CAF Code of Conduct.