Building the Framework

Building CAF
The Framework is currently in the development phase. Over the next 12 months, the Framework will be trialled and refined. The following components of the Framework have been developed and will be included in the trial.


Code of conduct

The code of conduct sets out the core principles that all stakeholders commit to, including respect and dignity for cleaners, freedom of association, workplace safety, reasonable workloads, recognition of stakeholder who adopt wages and conditions that are above minimum standards, and reasonable contract prices. All industry stakeholders are expected to commit to these principles, which are linked to the star rating system.


Procurement toolkit

CAF is developing a suite of best-practice procurement tools and guidance notes for cleaning companies, facilities managers and property owners to use when tendering cleaning contracts. The key procurement tool that has been developed to date is the pricing schedule, which provides transparency of wages and overheads, hours worked and productivity rates and enables a fair and consistent assessment of tenders.


Compliance and auditing tools

CAF is developing compliance and auditing tools that will ensure all stakeholders are able to comply with minimum standards and, where identified, achieve better practice four star and best-practice five star CAF standards.


Certification scheme

The CAF will certify and award start ratings to buildings.  The certification scheme will consist of two elements:

  • Membership – all participants across the cleaning services supply chain will be welcome to join CAF. Membership will signal a public commitment by an entity to CAF principles. It will also entitle members to access a range of CAF resources.
  • Site certification – property owners will be able to seek certification of specific property sites within their portfolio. 

The certification scheme targets compliance in key areas, including labour standards, taxation and superannuation, record keeping, and workplace health and safety.


Three, four and five star standards

CAF will operate a star rating model. A different standard will exist for three, four, or five-star ratings, with the requirements to be met increasing with the ratings. The five-star standard, for example, will include a range of requirements that demonstrate best practice.

CAF has developed and will be piloting a three-star standard. The requirements of this standard can be found here.

The Fair Work Ombudsman is currently facilitating pre-pilot testing of the Certification Scheme at four sites in Sydney and Melbourne (including both retail and commercial sites). At these properties, the Certification Scheme is being ‘reality tested’ with large cleaning services supply chains against the three-star standard.

CAF will pilot the certification scheme from August 2016 through June 2017. During this time, CAF intends to work with industry stakeholders to refine the scheme, develop requirements for the four and five star standards, and consider expansion opportunities.

All standards will require building owners (and those in the cleaning supply chain for a particular building) to agree to CAF’s Code of Conduct.